Inaugural Japan M&A Awards

21 June 2018, Imperial Hotel, Tokyo

The five stages of the Japan M&A Awards: How it works and entry dates

Mergermarket's M&A awards will be handed out on 21st June in Tokyo. If you're an advisor interested to enter, here's how it works.

Step 1: Data analysis in April

We analyse our league table data in April to identify the top-ranked firms and form our shortlist.

The analysis considers overall value of transactions as well as overall volume (deal count) in equal measure - meaning that even if your transactions have undisclosed values, every deal counts.

The period under review is for deals announced between 1st April 2017 to 31st March 2018 - a full twelve month period.

Step 2: Shortlist announced on 23rd April

When the analysis is done, we announce a shortlist for each category on 23rd April 2018.

Only these firms are eligible to enter the enter the awards.

Contact for further information.

Step 3: Send a pitch by Friday 11th May

Each of the firms who successfully make the shortlist are invited to write half an A4 page pitch. The pitch is handed to a panel of M&A veterans who will review all the entries received, compare it with our league table data and debate who deserves to win.

This means the pitch is the most important stage of the process! Judges are looking for the story behind the data, such as the value-adding nature of the advisory work you provided to clients, examples of innovative or creative solutions to complex situations and how you helped get the deal across the line.

Step 4: Judging during the rest of May

Throughout the rest of May 2018, our judges will review all of the pitches and the data. The judges come from a wide variety of industry backgrounds, including investment banking, private equity, financial advisory, legal advisory, academia and journalism. They apply their knowledge to interpret if the deal data combined with what's written in the pitch all adds up to a winning entry.

Step 5: Awards night on 21st June

Dust-off the tuxedo and cocktail dresses for the black-tie gala dinner, hosted at the Imperial Hotel, Tokyo. This prestigious event gathers top dealmakers from across the region and is a fantastic climax to the year. Included in the ticket price is entry to the drinks reception and fantastic three-course meal.